Free Trade Agreements

Save on imports with Platinum® Freight Management

Are you paying more than you need to when it comes to your imported products? Ask Platinum® how you can save money on your next import!

It has been the experience of Platinum® that importers have been paying duty on items imported into Australia, which are actually entitled to free trade status. It is highly recommended that importers who import from any of the four countries listed below, consult with us first as to whether their items are entitled to free trade status.

Australia has four free trade agreements:

  • The Australia-United States Free Trade Agreement (AUSFTA) has been in place since January 2005
  • The Thailand-Australia Free Trade Agreement (TAFTA) has been in place since January 2005
  • The Singapore-Australia Free Trade Agreement (SAFTA) has been in place since July 2003
  • The Australia-New Zealand Closer Economic Relations Trade Agreement (ANZCERTA) has been in place since 1983

Under Discussion:

As part of its commitment to pursue every opportunity to increase trade and investment for Australians, the Australian Government is undertaking FTA negotiations or discussions with:

  • Australia/NZ-ASEAN
  • Malaysia
  • China
  • Chile
  • Gulf Cooperation Council
  • Japan

The Australian Government is also conducting a joint study on a possible free trade agreement with the Republic of Korea.

Australia has another Free Trade Agreement known as the ASEAN – Australia – New Zealand Free Trade Agreement (AANZFTA).

The Free Trade Agreement will involve the following countries:

  1. Australia
  2. New Zealand
  3. Brunei
  4. Cambodia
  5. Indonesia
  6. Laos
  7. Malaysia
  8. Myanmar (Burma)
  9. The Philippines
  10. Singapore
  11. Thailand
  12. Vietnam

If you import products from any of these countries, please contact Peter to discuss taking advantage of Australia’s free trade agreements.

Information Courtesy: